Hemingway, Open Endings

March 6, 2008

Usually I write about how psychology affects the characters, but it is too tough to pass up writing about Ernest Hemingway’s open endings. Ernie has a different approach to writing than most writers had, and that is why he stood out in the modernist era. He had a much different approach and I personally haven’t seen any writing styles similar to Hemingway. He begins quickly, just throwing you into the story, most of the time the reader doesn’t know what happens before or what happens after the story as well. For example, in his short story “The Killers” within the first line of the short story, the two killers George and Al are already in Henry’s lunchroom and soon after the begin asking George, Sam, and Nick questions. Hemingway gives the reader no prior information about these men, or what may happen, the reader needs to make assumptions and then pick up information as they go along. Hemingway totally leaves the ending up for grabs as well. After Nick warns Ole Anderson he is about to be murdered, and Anderson gives no response and doesn’t care the least bit, Nick retreats to the restaurant, and that is pretty much it. Nick is discouraged and scared about the situation, and the last 4 lines of the short story read like this:

“I’m going to get out of this town,” Nick said.

“Yes,” said George. “That’s a good thing to do.”

“I can’t stand to think about him waiting in the room and knowing he’s going to get it. It’s too damned awful.”

“Well,” said George, “you better not think about it.”

This is how Hemingway leaves the play to end. He doesn’t mention what happens to Nick, Sam, or George. He never mentions if Ole Anderson ever left his room again, why he was acting so strange, or if he eventually got killed. The two killers were never mentioned again either. There are a number of possible scenarios that the reader can fill in to finish Hemingway’s short story, and that is why Hemingway is such an interesting author.

9 Responses to “Hemingway, Open Endings”

  1. ashcp4 Says:

    You’re right about Hemingway’s style and I’m not really a big fan of it. He makes it interesting, but I like knowing more about the characters and how the story ends. I guess if thats what I want I shouldn’t be reading modernist literature then.

  2. Boss Says:

    I totally agree here about Uncle Ernie. Reading his work, it’s obvious that he’s a true fiend for the open endings. I was glad I could really connect my attribute so strongly to Ern.

  3. Ms. Baz Says:

    Good work, Jeff. 🙂

  4. Evan Says:

    Hey way to steal my subject big guy… Anyways, I agree with the fact that Uncle Ernie is the ultimate king leaving the reader with an open ending. He loves to leave you hanging with absolutely no idea what is going on at the end of his pieces of writing. Its pretty frustrating, and i also agree with the points you made at the end of this blog about the subjects that Ernie neglects to “wrap up” for the reader. Nice blog man.

  5. beckett19 Says:

    I think open endings Ernie style is absolutely fabulous.

    Jeff you are absolutely right, Ernie is a treasure chest for those of us doing open endings. I think you can figure out how some of these characters just by the mood and tone of the author towards these characters

  6. Kel Says:

    How come all the writers that are messed up have open endings? Jeez. I agree with you entirely though. And as for the psychological aspect, I honestly think that it’s open because it’s just a normal setting, normal people that apparently don’t freak out… and well, life just goes from there.

  7. meemsies Says:

    This post screams: SPELL CHECK! like ..”He had a much different [[apporach]] and I personally haven’t seen any [[writting]] styles similar to Hemingway. ”

    Anyways, I believe you made many good points about Ernest Hemingway’s unique style of writing:

    “Ernie has a different approach to writing than most writers had, and that is why he stood out in the modernist era.”

    He has such a short and precise way of delivering his stories. Not much of a detail-loving guy, I guess. However, his short and sweet deliveries are the reason why we, as readers, must fill in so many blanks!!!

  8. mopo07 Says:

    thats extremely true about his open endings. Its to hard to pass up on. Good job with your blog. I find in a way we as readers almost always expect a closed ending. When reading these modern pieces it has shown me that therre is such a variety of writing.

  9. kelceyg Says:

    How mad do you get when authors leave open endings? Hemingway leaving a large amount of his work in open endings leaves the reader to guess what might have happened, when we will really never know.

Leave a comment